Setting Domino Designer Source Control user preferences

You can customize Domino Designer source control features to make your application development process and source control tasks more efficient.

To access the Source Control Preferences panel, choose File >Preferences >Domino Designer >Source Control. You can change the following source control settings from this panel.

  • Use Binary DXL for source control operations - This setting is enabled by default. There are different ways to represent the design elements on disk depending on the type of the design element being represented. See the "Selecting the way to represent the design elements on disk" section in this guidefor complete details. Deselect this setting to disable it.
  • Enable automatic export of the design elements (from NSF to disk) on modification - This setting is enabled by default. This preference is provided to enable implicit export of design elements after they are modified inside NSF by user. If this preference is selected, any edits to the NSF project (for example create/update/delete of a form, XPage, etc) are reflected to the on-disk project implicitly, which you can then commit to the source control repository. Deselect this setting to disable it.
  • Enable automatic import of the design elements (from NSF to disk) on modification - This setting is enabled by default. This preference is provided for allowing implicit import of design files from disk to NSF when they are modified in the disk project. This also needs Auto-build to be ON. After setting this preference, if user updates the disk project with the contents from the repository, the changes would get auto-imported inside the NSF. Deselect this setting to disable it.
  • Show Helper panel in Set Up wizard - This setting is enabled by default. This preference will show a helper panel describing the source control enablement feature when the Team Development-Set Up Source Control for this Application panel is invoked. Deselect this setting to disable it.

Click Apply to save your settings changes. You can restore the default choices at any time by clicking on the Restore Defaults button.

Click OK to exit the panel or click Cancel to cancel the choices you have made and exit the panel.