Setting Domino Designer Java Editor user preferences

You can customize the settings of the Java™ Editor in Domino® Designer so that it runs the way you want it to.

To access the Java Editor Preferences panel, choose File >Preferences >Domino Designer >Java Editor. You can change the following Java Editor settings from the Java Editor Preferences panel.

  • Use Eclipse-based Java Editor - The Java interface for agents, libraries, and Web services opens the Eclipse Java editor. You can switch back and forth between the Eclipse and Notes editor by selecting or clearing the related Designer editor preferences on this panel. Make sure this is checked (default setting) if you wish to use the Eclipse-based Java Editor. If it is not selected, then you will use the Notes-based Java Editor. Refer to the "Eclipse-based language interfaces" section of this guide for more detail.
  • Prompt me on save if there are Java errors - Select this option (default setting) if you want to be prompted on save if there are Java errors in the code you are writing. Errors are flagged in the folder hierarchy as an X in a red box. The specific errors are listed in the Problems view at the bottom of the screen. Expand and double-click on an error description to open the file containing the error. If it is not selected, then you will not be prompted. Refer to the "Eclipse-based language interfaces" section of this guide for more detail.
  • Enable refactoring of referenced Java file across design elements - Selecting this option lets you refactor a referenced Java file across design elements. This feature helps you improve, stabilize, and maintain your Java code by letting you make an application-wide coding changes without affecting the semantic behavior of the application. Deselect this option to disable this feature. Refer to the "Eclipse-based language interfaces" section of this guide for more detail.
  • Autosave Java design element on save of individual Java sources - Selecting this option enables autosaving of a Java design element when you save individual Java sources. Deselect this option to disable this feature.

Click Apply to save your settings changes. You can restore the default choices at any time by clicking on the Restore Defaults button.

Click OK to exit the panel or click Cancel to cancel the choices you have made and exit the panel.