Moving a content item

You move content items from one site area to another using the Move To feature. This is different from linking content as the content you choose to move is removed from the original site area.

Before you begin

Template mappings:

When you choose a site area to link a content item to, ensure that the site area you choose has a valid template mapping between the authoring template and presentation template you would like to use with the selected content item.

Procedure

  1. Browse to a content list.
  2. Select a content item.
  3. Click Move.
  4. Select a library.
  5. Select a site area to move the content item under:
    1. Items that you do not have sufficient access to select are disabled. If these items have children you can select, you can browse to select them.
    2. If a selected site area has existing children, you then select how to add the content item within the site area:
      • Select First child to move the content item as the first listed content item within a site area. Then, click OK.
      • Select Last child to move the content item as the last listed content item within a site area. Then, click OK.
      • Select Before specified child to move the content item before a selected child item. A further selection dialog opens if this option is selected. Select a child item and then click OK.
      • Select After specified child to move the content item after a selected child item. A further selection dialog opens if this option is selected. Select a child item and then click OK.