How to manage versions of items

You can configure your system to either automatically save a version of an item each time it is published, or allow users to select when to save a version of an item. You can restore items individually, or choose to restore a set of items within a library that either have the same label or were versioned at, or before, a specified date and time.

Item level version control

  • If automatic versioning is enabled, a version is saved each time that you save an item, or if the item is participating in a workflow, each time the item's state changes to published. You cannot save versions of draft items.
  • If manual versioning is enabled, users with editor access or higher can manually save versions of published items. You can restore a version by viewing an item's version history and selecting a version to restore.
  • Any hierarchical relationships to other items are not saved. For example, if you save a version of a site area that has child site areas and you delete the child site areas, the child site areas are not restored if you restore the parent site area.
  • If you have links to external resources within an item, a copy of the external item is not saved when a version is created. If you delete the external resource, you cannot use the web Content Management version feature to restore the external resource.
Item names: An item name is independent of version control. For example, changing the name of version 4 also changes the name of all versions of that item.

Library level version control

  • You cannot choose to save a version of an entire library. Only those items that have versions that are saved by using item level version controls are saved within a library.
  • You can restore a set of items from within a library that either have the same label or were versioned at, or before, a specified date and time.

You can apply a label to the most recent set of saved versions in a library at any time and then restore all the items with the same label later.

Note: Labels that you apply to versions are not syndicated to subscribers.

Clearing version history

The clear versions tool can be used to clear version histories from items. It is configurable and can be used to clear versions within a specific date range, for specific item-types or libraries, or to keep only some of the most recent versions.