Permissions Set in the BigFix Console

In this page, you can fine instructions to manage the WebUI permissions set in the BigFix Console.

Detailed procedures, including a description of how explicit and effective permissions work, appear below. To summarize: use the Console's All Content > WebUI Apps screen to set permissions for operators and roles. Or manage the same settings from the All Content > Operators > WebUI and All Content > Roles > WebUI screens. To control access to the WebUI log-in page, use the All Content > Operators > Details and All Content > Roles > Details screens.

Set Permissions: WebUI Apps Screen


Image showing WebUI application selected for permission settings.
  1. Select a WebUI application.
  2. Select the Operator or the Role tab, and then an operator or role.
    Operator Permissions tab and selection of a single operator from the list.

  3. Click the Allow button to grant access, or the None button to disable access.
  4. Click Save Changes.

To grant access to all operators with one click check the Enable for All Operators box.

Permissions granted directly to an operator are called explicit permissions. Permissions granted indirectly to one or more operators (for example, through a role) are known as effective permissions. What happens when there is a conflict between an operator's explicit and effective permissions? For example, what happens when access to the Patch application is enabled for Operator A, but disabled for a role to which Operator A is assigned? When this happens BigFix applies the least restrictive of the two settings, and the result is the effective permission. The table shows the result for each set of explicit permissions.

Table 1. Explicit and Effective Permissions
Explicit Permissions Effective Permission

Yes – Granted to operator.
Yes – Granted to operator through a role.
Yes – Enable for All Operators box checked.

Yes
Allowed

No – Disabled for operator.
No – Disabled for assigned role.
No – Enable for All Operators box clear.

No
None

Yes – Granted to operator.
No – Disabled for assigned role.
No – Enable for All Operators box clear.

Yes
Allowed

No – Disabled for operator.
Yes – Granted to operator through a role.
No – Enable for All Operators box clear.

Yes
Allowed

No – Disabled for operator.
No – Disabled for assigned role.
Yes – Enable for All Operators box checked.

Yes
Allowed (Global)

When permissions are granted through the WebUI Apps setting's Enable For All Operators check box, the Effective Permissions value changes from Allowed to Allowed (Global).
Image showing Operator Permissions tab and the Enable for All Operators check box.

Set WebUI Permissions: Operators Screen

To grant or remove access to WebUI components for an operator:

  1. Go to All Content > Operators > WebUI Apps tab.
  2. Select an operator.
  3. Select a WebUI application.
  4. Click the Allow or None to grant or disable access.
  5. Click Save Changes.

Set WebUI Permissions: Roles Screen

To grant or remove access to WebUI components for a role:

  1. Go to All Content > Operators > WebUI Apps tab.
  2. Select a role.
  3. Select a WebUI application.
  4. Click the Allow or None to grant or disable access.
  5. Click Save Changes.

The Create Actions Privilege

An operator whose Can Create Actions permission is set to No cannot deploy content, but can still see deployments made by others.

To set Create Action permissions to No:

  1. Go to All Content > Operators > Details or All Content > Roles > Details.
  2. Scroll down to the Permissions pane and set Can Create Actions to No.
  3. Click Save Changes.

Image showing the Can Create Actions settings on the Details tab.

Enable/Disable Log-in Access to the WebUI

You can enable/disable WebUI access for an operator or role and turn on/off access to the log-in page. If you select No, it rejects a user’s log-in credentials.


Image showing how to turn off WebUI login privileges for an operator or role.

To grant or remove WebUI login access for an operator:

  1. Go to All Content > Operators > Details tab.
  2. Scroll down to Interface Login Privileges.
  3. Set Can Use WebUI to Yes or No.
  4. Click Save Changes.

To grant or remove WebUI login access for a role:

  1. Go to All Content > Roles > Details tab.
  2. Scroll down to Interface Login Privileges.
  3. Set Can Use WebUI to Yes or No.
  4. Click Save Changes.