Manage items in a project

You can both create new items or add existing items to a project and then edit them as required.

To add an item to a project, you can either:
  • Open an item in read mode and click Add to project.
  • Open an item in edit mode and click Add to project and then save the item. If the item is closed before saving, the item is not added to the project.
  • Select items in a view and click More actions > Add to project.
  • Open a project and click Add to project and then select an item to add to the project.
  • Open a project and click New to create a draft item in the project.
Note: The maximum number of items that can be used in a single project is 500.
Note: To add an item to a project, you must have editor access to that item.
When you add an item to a project:
  • You can also select items that are referenced by the item you are adding to the project.
  • Non-workflowed item types are saved as a draft.
  • Workflowed items are added to a project in the first workflow stage of their workflow.
When added to a project, you work with your items in the same way as any other item by selecting an item in the project and clicking Edit:
  • Non-workflowed item types are saved as drafts until you are ready to publish them by clicking Approve.
  • Workflowed items are processed through a full workflow cycle until reaching a pending state.
  • Draft items in a project are displayed alongside other items in your item views, but are displayed with a status of draft. If you create a draft of a previously published item, both the draft and published versions of your item appear in your item views.
  • When you use selection dialogs, draft items from your current project appear alongside currently published items so you can select and link to both current items and draft project items.
Workflow item types:

Workflows, workflow stages and workflow actions cannot be added to projects.

Previewing items in a project

While you are working on a project, you can preview the draft items in the project as if they were published together on the live site.
Note: Care must be taken when you preview content by using the servlet. Clicking a link while you preview items in a project takes you out of the project scope itself, and uses the scope of the current site instead.

Deleting items in a project

Remove From Project
When you select an item in a project and click Remove From Project, the draft item is removed from the project but is still visible in the Library Explorer.
Delete
When you select an item in a project and click Delete, the draft is removed from the project and also deleted.
Mark for deletion
When an item is marked for deletion, the item is deleted when the project is published.
  • You can mark items for deletion in a project by:
    1. Adding the item to a project
    2. Opening a draft project item in read mode and clicking Mark for deletion.
  • When an item is marked for deletion, other buttons in the edit view of the item are disabled. To cancel a deletion, click Cancel deletion.
  • When an item is marked for deletion, its workflow status is displayed as Delete Pending.
  • When you use Save As and Copy operations on an item that is marked for deletion, the newly saved item is in the first workflow stage.
  • When you preview a project, items marked for deletion are not displayed in the previewed website.
  • If you delete an item that was originally created in the project it is immediately deleted and is not displayed as Delete Pending.

Disabling a workflow in a project

A workflow can be configured so that it is disabled when an item that uses that workflow is added to a project.
  • Any items that use the disabled workflow have a status of draft when added to a project, but no longer require to pass through a workflow before the item is published.
  • The workflow stage the item is returned to when the project is published is also defined in the workflow.
  • Any actions set to run on entering the stage that the item is returned to are not run.
  • An item has a status of "published" when the project is published regardless of the workflow stage it is returned to, even if the workflow stage does not use a publish action or if it precedes or follows a workflow stage that contains a publish action.

Publishing Methods

Select the default publishing method to be used by projects that are created by using this project template:
Date
When Date is selected, all items are published as soon as all the items in the project reach a state of "pending" and the publish date that is selected in the project is reached. You can also click Publish in the project form before the date is reached, but only if all items in the project reach a state of "pending".
Manual
When Manual is selected all items remain in a state of "pending" until the project is manually published by clicking Publish in the project form. The Publish button is not activated until all items in the project reach a state of "pending". Only users with editor access or higher to a project can publish a project.
Automatic
When Automatic is selected all items are published as soon as all the items in the project reach a state of "pending".