Locking and unlocking content

As an administrator, you are able to restrict the tasks that can be done with the contents of a container:

About this task

You can prevent portal users from modifying the content of a container on a static page. If you lock the content of a container on a page, then a portlet cannot be added to that container, or moved into or out of that container.
When a container is locked, it cannot be removed from the page. As an administrator, you are able to restrict the following tasks that can be done with the contents of a container.
  • Add portlets to the container
  • Remove portlets from the container
  • Move portlets inside of the container into other containers
  • Add subcontainers (columns or rows) to the container
  • Remove subcontainers (columns or rows) from the container
  • Modify portlet positions within the container
  • Modify subcontainer positions within the container
  • Set the width for the container

Procedure

  1. To open the Manage Pages portlet, click the Administration menu icon. Then, click Portal User Interface > Manage Pages.
  2. Click the Edit Page Layout icon for the page that you want to lock or unlock.
  3. Click the Locks tab.
  4. To lock the content of the container, click the lock icon. The icon shows a closed lock when the content of the container is locked, and an open lock when it is unlocked. Clicking the icon toggles back and forth between locked and unlocked.
  5. Click Done to save the changes to the page.

Example

You can verify that the content of a container is locked by clicking the Content tab. If the content of a container box is locked, then it does not display an Add portlet button or any directional arrows.