Creating and managing custom rules

Available from 9.2.7. You can create custom rules to automate the process of software classification. The rules automatically perform the action that is defined by the rule criteria. For example, when you create a custom rule while assigning a component to a product, the rule is applied whenever the exact same component is discovered in the future.

Before you begin

An icon representing a user. You must have the Manage Imports and Manage Software Classification permissions to perform this task.

About this task

Custom rules can be applied to:
  • A single computer when they are created for this computer
  • A computer group when they are created for this computer group
  • Computer group to which the user is assigned. The user cannot choose a computer group, and is limited to the group or groups to which the user belongs. The rule is always applied to the current user group. When user's computer group changes, the rule scope is revised.
    Restriction: The number of unique custom rules you can create is currently limited to 10.

9.2.16 Starting from application update 9.2.16, you can create a custom rule for suppressing components.

Procedure

  1. Log in to BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool, and go to Reports > Software Classification.
  2. Filter the panel so that it shows only instances for which you want to create a custom rule.
    Tip: Specify the exact version of the component to avoid inconsistency.
  3. A custom rule can be created only when you select all instances that are currently displayed. To select all filtered instances, press Ctrl + A, or CMD + A on Mac.
  4. Assign a component to a product, or exclude a product or suppress a component from software calculations.
  5. Before you confirm the assignment, exclusion, or suppression select the Create a custom rule check box.
    Restriction: You cannot create a custom rule and share the component at the same time. Perform these actions separately.
  6. Click Assign, Exclude, or Suppress.

Results

The custom rule was created. To view your custom rules, navigate to Management > Custom Rules. The rules are added to the panel in the order of creation, and are applied from the top during import.

Deleting custom rules

All custom rules that you create are displayed, and can be deleted on the Custom Rules panel. Any user who has the Manage Imports and Manage Software Classification permissions can add, and delete any rules, including the rules created by other users. When you delete a user, the rules created by that user are not automatically removed.

About this task

An icon representing a user. You must have the Manage Imports and Manage Software Classification permissions to perform this task.

Procedure

  1. Go to Management > Custom Rules.
  2. Select a custom rule that you want to delete, and click Delete.

Results

The rule is deleted and no longer applied. The software classification based on the rule remains unchanged.