Confirming assignment of software components

Available from 9.2.7. When the assignment of a component to the product is correct, you can confirm it. The task is optional. However, components whose assignment is not confirmed can be automatically reassigned to different products. It might happen when a new software catalog is uploaded or when a different product is suggested as the best bundling option based on the new results of automated bundling. To avoid such a situation, it is recommended to confirm the assignment of all components.

Before you begin

An icon representing a user. You must have the Manage Software Classification permission to view the Software Classification panel and classify software. To view some additional columns related to computers on which the components are installed, you also need the View Endpoints permission.

Procedure

  1. Log in to BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool, and go to Reports > Software Classification.
  2. Confirm all components that are marked as One to One.
    If a component relates to a single product in the software catalog, the relation is marked as One to One. Previously, all BigFix components that had a single bundling option in the software catalog were automatically confirmed. Now, you can easily filter the report to review these components, and confirm them. It ensures that you are fully in charge of the software classification process.
    1. Hover over the Manage Report View icon Manage Report View icon, and click Configure View. Then, add the following filters to the filters that are already defined in this report:
      • Publisher Name, equal to, IBM
      • IBM-provided Bundling Option, equal to, Yes
      • One to One, equal to, Yes
      • Confirmed, equal to, No

      The screen shows properly set-up filters.

      The screen shows properly set-up filters.
    2. Press CTRL + A, or CMD + A on Mac, to select all the filtered components.
    3. Hover over the Confirm Components icon Confirm icon, and click Confirm.
  3. Confirm all assignments that are correct.
    1. Select a component or components that you want to confirm.
    2. Hover over the Confirm Components icon Confirm icon, and click Confirm.