Shared and private views and folders

There are two main types of views and folders in a Notes® application: shared (available to many users) and private (available to one person).

You can also create a view or folder that changes from shared to private on first use. You designate the type of view or folder when you create it. Once the view or folder is created you cannot change the view or folder type later.

Table 1. View and folder descriptions

View or folder type

Purpose

Private

Can only be accessed by the Notes ID who created it.

Shared

Can be accessed by anyone.

Shared, contains documents not in any folders (views only)

Creates a shared view based on a version of a view or folder. Allows users to view documents that aren't stored in folders.

Shared, contains deleted documents (views only)

Creates a shared version of a view or folder. Allows users to view a list of documents in the application that have been deleted.

You can recover deleted documents by dragging them out of the trash to the folder where you want them. This view assumes that the application manager has already selected Allow soft deletions in the Advanced tab of the Application Properties box. By setting the soft delete option and creating this view, documents mistakenly deleted can be retrieved simply and quickly.

Shared, private on first use

Creates a shared version of a view or folder. The first time a user opens this view or folder, a copy of it is created. This copy is their private version. The private version is created in the application if the user has access to the it. If not, the folder is created in the user's desktop file (.ndk).

Once the user has created a private copy, the view or folder cannot automatically inherit design changes like the rest of the application can. To update a shared, private view with the latest design changes, delete the private copy of the view, then replace it with the updated view.

To update a folder, copy any documents to be saved to another folder. Then delete the private copy of the folder and replace it with the updated folder. Or choose Actions > Folder > Upgrade Folder Design if it is available, as it is in Mail.

Shared, desktop private on first use

Creates a shared version of a view or folder. The first time a user opens this view or folder, a copy of it is created. This copy is their private version. However, this folder is created in the desktop file even if the user has access to create private folders in the application.

Once the user has created a private copy, the view or folder cannot automatically inherit design changes like the rest of the application can. To update a shared, private view with the latest design changes, delete your private copy of the view, then replace it with the updated view.

To update a folder, copy any documents you want to save to another folder. Then delete your private copy of the folder and replace it with the updated folder. Or choose Actions > Upgrade Folder Design if it is available, as it is in Mail.