Changing a roaming user to non-roaming

When you change a user from roaming to non-roaming, the Administration Process changes the user's status in their Person document from roaming to non-roaming. It also prompts you to delete the user's roaming files and replicas from the servers on which those files reside.

Before you begin

To change a roaming user to a non-roaming user, you need the following access levels or privileges:
  • At least Author access to the HCL Domino® Directory
  • Delete document privilege in the Domino Directory

About this task

When you downgrade a roaming user to non-roaming, the roaming applications remain in their roaming directories until you approve their removal from the roaming server. When you downgrade a roaming user to non-roaming, use the Remove Roaming Profile dialog in the Domino Administrator client. Failure to do so may cause an error on a subsequent roaming upgrade. Select Bypass approval of deleted roaming databases option in the Remove Roaming Profile dialog box to bypass the approval process and automatically delete the roaming databases whenever a user is downgraded from roaming to non-roaming.
Note: The Bypass approval of deleted roaming databases option is available beginning with Domino 8.5.1. Earlier releases create approval requests and require that administrators approve roaming database deletions. The roaming upgrade process will fail when a replica, which matches any one of the proposed roaming databases, already exists on the targeted roaming server. This occurs when you downgrade a roaming user and do not approve deletion of the roaming applications on the server.

Observe the following guidelines when changing a user's roaming status:

  • When changing a Domino roaming user to a non-roaming user, always use the roaming tools available from the People and Groups tab as detailed in the procedure.
  • When upgrading a non-roaming user to a Domino server roaming user, always use the roaming tools available from People and Groups > Tools > People. See the topic Changing a non-roaming user to roaming in the related links.
  • When upgrading to or downgrading from file server roaming, always use policies. To upgrade a non-roaming user to file server roaming, apply the policy to the user. To downgrade a file server roaming user to non-roaming, remove the user from the policy or from the group to which the policy applies. See the Policies section of this documentation for more information.

Procedure

  1. From the Domino Administrator, click the People & Groups tab.
  2. Choose People and then select one or more roaming user name(s) that you are changing to non-roaming.
  3. From the Tools pane, click People > Roaming.
    Note: If you selected a mixed group of roaming and non-roaming users, the Mixed Roaming Profile dialog box appears and prompts you to select either roaming or non-roaming. Enable Remove roaming profiles from n selected users. In this case, n is the number of roaming users selected.
  4. Enable Perform updates in background so that you can continue using the Administrator client while requests are processed.

To verify the change

About this task

The procedure changes the user's status in their Person document from Domino server roaming to non-roaming. To verify that the change has been made:

Procedure

  1. From the Domino Administrator, click the People & Groups tab.
  2. Click People, and then select the user you changed to non-roaming.
  3. Click Edit Person to open the user's Person document.
  4. Click the Roaming tab. The User Can Roam field should display No.

To approve the database deletion

About this task

If you chose to change a Domino server roaming user to non-roaming, you must approve the deletion requests in the Administration Requests (admin4.nsf) database. Changing a roaming user to non-roaming, requires that the user's roaming files and replicas are deleted.

Procedure

  1. From the Domino Administrator, choose Server > Analysis > Administration Requests.
  2. Select the Pending Administrator Approval view.
  3. Depending on your choices when you changed the user from roaming to non-roaming, do one of the following:
    • If you want to approve one or more deletion requests without looking at detail information for those requests, select the requests, and click Approve Selected Requests and then click OK.
    • If you want to see detail on one or more requests before approving the deletion of roaming files, select and open the request, click Edit Request, review the detail information, then choose Approve Replica Deletion or Reject Replica Deletion.
  4. Click Save and Close.