Deleting a web content library | HCL Digital Experience

When a web content library is no longer required, you can delete the library.

Before you begin

Note:
  • You must be an administrator to delete web content libraries.
  • A library cannot be deleted if there are references to items in the library that is being deleted from items in other libraries.
  • A library is only deleted on the current server. If you are syndicating to other servers, you must delete each library on each server separately.
  • If you want to prevent any changes from being made to items stored in a library, but would like those items to still appear on a rendered site, you must disable the library instead.
  • You must back up your library before you delete it.
  • Do not shut down your server during deletion as this action corrupts the library. If the library gets corrupted, you must reinstall your library from your backup.
  • Deleting a library is an intensive process and increases the load on your server. A less load intensive alternative to deleting a library is disabling a library. For more information, see Disabling a web content library | HCL Digital Experience . Disabling a library can also be used as an alternative to deleting a library when a library cannot be deleted because there are references from items in other libraries.

To delete a library:

Procedure

  1. Click the Administration menu icon in the toolbar. Then, click Portal Content > Web Content Libraries.
  2. Click the Delete library icon for the library you would like to delete.
  3. Click System Reports to open a list of library deletion reports.
  4. Click the most recent report to review the library deletion.
    Note: Items that were previously deleted but not purged from the library are not included in the "total items deleted successfully" count.