Creating saved report views

Saved report views are derived from base reports and provide quick access to information that you use frequently. Some saved report views are delivered with BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool and are available for you immediately. You can also specify filters and parameters of any report and create your own saved report views.

About this task

Three types of saved reports are available.

The table consists of five columns and four rows.

Type Description Can be sent to specified recipients Can be set as a default view Can be modified
9.2.4 Predefined Reports that are delivered with BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool. Yes Yes
My Reports Reports that you created. Yes Yes Yes
Other Reports Reports that were created by other users and marked as public. Yes

Procedure

  1. Open the report for which you want to create a custom view.
  2. To customize the report view, hover over the Manage Report View icon Manage Report View icon, and click Configure View. Add or remove columns and apply filters, then click Submit. Resize and sort the report columns by clicking and dragging.
  3. To save the report, hover over the Manage Report View icon Manage Report View icon, and click Save As. Specify the name of the report. You can also choose one of the following options:
    • If you do not want other users of BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool to view your custom report, select Private.
      Note: The Administrator can view and delete reports that are marked as private.
    • If you want the custom report to be your default view for the particular report, select Set as default.
      Tip: If the Administrator set a customized view as global default for a particular report, you can overwrite this setting by creating your default view. Your settings take precedence over the global settings.
    • If you want the custom view to be the default report view for all users of BigFix InventoryLicense Metric Tool, select Set as global default. You must be an Administrator to perform this task.

Results

All types of saved reports can be accessed from the Saved Reports panel or from a drop-down list on the base report from which the saved report was created.
Saved report

Saved report

Deleting saved report views

To delete a saved report view, select the report from the list of all saved reports, and click Delete.

Procedure

  1. To open the list of all saved reports, click Reports > Saved Reports.
  2. Select the report that you want to delete.
  3. In the upper left corner, click Delete.

Changing the default report view

To change the default view that you set for a particular report, you must first clear the settings and then set the new custom view.

Procedure

  1. To open the list of all saved reports, click Reports > Saved Reports.
  2. Open the report for which you want to edit or change the default customized view.
  3. Clear the Set as default or Set as global default check box, and click Save.
  4. Open the report for which you want to change the default view and customize it according to your needs.
  5. Hover over the Manage Report View icon Manage Report View icon, and click Save As. Specify the report name, and select Set as default or Set as global default. Click Create.