Locking the Notes ID

Locking your HCL Notes® ID prevents others from using Notes when you are away from your computer. Locking your ID clears your Notes credentials and drops all connections to Notes servers. You must log in again in order to take any new action using Notes.

About this task

CAUTION: Locking your Notes ID does not clear or block your computer screen. You and anyone else can still see the applications that were open when your Notes ID was locked.

Locking your Notes ID does not affect your HCL Sametime® or Activities connections.

Results

To set Notes to lock your ID automatically

About this task

Procedure

  1. Click File > Security > User Security (Macintosh OS X users: Notes > Security > User Security).
  2. Click Security Basics.
  3. Under Logout Settings, select Automatically lock my Notes ID after 90 minutes and enter the number of minutes of inactivity that should go by before Notes locks your ID.

Results

You can also lock your ID manually by pressing CTRL+F5 or clicking File > Security > Lock Notes ID.