How do I delete Location, Account, or Connection documents?

Deleting a Location, Connection, or Account document can harm essential parts of your connections to HCL Notes® mail, Internet mail, or Internet newsgroups, or make it impossible for Notes to connect you to a server you need. If you want to experiment with extra locations, connections, or accounts, copy existing documents and paste and rename test copies, so you can later delete the test versions without disturbing the originals.

Procedure

  1. Notes Standard client users:
    • To delete a Location document, click File > Preferences and then click Locations.
    • To delete an Account document, click File > Preferences and then click Accounts.
    • To delete a Connection document, click Contacts in the Open list and then click View > Advanced > Connections.
  2. Notes Basic client users:
    • To delete a Location document, click File > Locations > Manage Locations.
    • To delete an Account document, click Contacts in the Open list and then click View > Advanced > Accounts.
    • To delete a Connection document, click Contacts in the Open list and then click View > Advanced > Connections.
  3. Click the document you want to delete and click Delete.
    Note: If you delete an IMAP Online account, you are asked whether you also want to delete its associated IMAP proxy application. If you delete an NNTP newsgroup account, you are asked whether you also want to delete its associated newsgroup application. To save storage space, click Yes to All. The applications are not useful without the accounts.
    Note: For Connection documents, click View > Refresh to remove the deleted document from the view.