Managing HCL Connections files from Windows Explorer

Manage your Connections files from Windows™ Explorer.

After you install HCL Connections Desktop Plug-ins for Microsoft™ Windows, you see an HCL Connections folder in the navigation pane of Windows Explorer. From this folder, you can view and access all of your Connections files from your desktop. For any file, you can:
  • Double-click a file to open a local copy of the file.
  • Right-click a file and select Open in browser to start Connections in a browser window so that you can access the file details and download link.

To work with plug-in features, you must be connected to a Connections or Connections Cloud site. For more information, see Connecting to an IBM® Connections site. For each site, you get a corresponding folder with the following contents.

Table 1. Folders for managing Connections filesDescription of the contents of the Connections folder.
Folder Description
My Files A list of all the files you published to Files.
Note: My Files initially limits the display to 500 files. To retrieve all files, right-click in the background and then select Get all.
Pinned Files Files that you pinned for easy retrieval.
Shared with Me Files that were shared with you.
Shared by Me Files that you shared with people or communities.
My Folders Folders that you created. You can drag files into folders. To remove a file from a folder, right-click the file name and click Remove from folder.
Pinned Folders Folders that you pinned for easy retrieval.
Folders Shared with Me Folders that other shared with you.
Communities Communities that you belong to and public communities. This folder does not automatically display all of the communities you can access. Add the communities that you want to access from your desktop. Click the icon for a community to view associated files. To add a community, right-click Community in the navigation pane, choose Add, then type the name of a community to add.
People This folder lists files that were shared with you, organized by the person who shared them. The folder does not automatically display all of the people who shared files with you. Add the people who shared files that you want to track from the desktop. Click a profile picture to see the associated files. To add a person to their folder, right-click People in the navigation pane, choose Add, then type the name of a person.
Trash Moving a file to the trash hides it from all folders and it no longer appears in searches. When you move a file to trash, all of the file's versions, recommendations, and comments move to trash, and the file is hidden from people with whom you shared it. If a file is restored from the trash, it is added back to the folders it was previously in, and all data is restored. When you restore a file from trash, all versions, recommendations, and comments are restored, and people with whom you shared the file can see it again.
Note: The Trash folder contains subfolders for trash from My Files, each community, and each person. Only subfolders that contain deleted files are displayed.