Supported locales

This topic describes which national language locales are supported and which locales are used by default.

On Windows systems, only UTF-8 locales are supported. Globalization is installed automatically with the single runtime package. Command-line utilities are currently restricted to English only.

When you use the SafeLinx Administrator to log on to the SafeLinx Server, information is exchanged on the language to be used for the session. The SafeLinx Administrator requests a language based on the locale it is using and the SafeLinx Server responds with the locale to use. The locale is either the one requested or English.

The SafeLinx Server uses a default locale for each language. To use a language besides English, the operating system must support the default locale that the SafeLinx Server uses for the language. The message catalog must be installed for that locale as well. The English UTF-8 locale is required for all languages. The localized UTF-8 locale is required for each non-English language if you want to use national language characters in user IDs or passwords.

The default locale for each language includes:

Table 1. Supported locales
Language Character encoding for AIX Character encoding for Linux


UTF-8 en_US.utf8

For AIX, the message catalogs are installed as separate packages. You must install support for a locale before you can install the message catalog for that locale. The recommended method of installation is to run smitty, select Install and Update Software > Install and Update from ALL Available Software, and then select the message catalogs to install.

For Linux and Solaris, globalization support for all languages is installed automatically with the single runtime package.

Other locales are supported if you are running commands in a console. These locales include:

Table 2. Additional locales for command-line usage
Language / character encoding Support for AIX Support for Linux
English ASCII N/A C