HCL Quality Server upgrade information and requirements

Before you upgrade HCL Quality Server, learn about the general and release-specific considerations and instructions for the upgrade.

No direct upgrade paths to the latest version are supported. To upgrade HCL OneTest API, HCL Quality Server or HCL OneTest API Agent packages to the latest version, uninstall any previously installed version and install the latest version. For install instructions, see Installing HCL OneTest API.

Note: When you upgrade, or uninstall an older version to move to a newer version (when the upgrade is not applicable), the customized trust stores that are located at HCL Quality Server installation location\usr\servers\defaultServer\resources\security, if any, are removed. Hence, before uninstalling or upgrading a version, create a backup copy of the trust stores.

Enabling HTTPS and changing the ports

If you upgrade from V9.1.0 or later, all communications with HCL Quality Server by default use HTTP on port 7819. To use HTTPS by default during the upgrade of the HCL Quality Server software, you must use the Install option in IBM® Installation Manager and click Check for Other Versions, Fixes, and Extensions in the Install Packages dialog; otherwise, you continue to use HTTP on port 7819.

You can change the port number and enable HTTPS even after the installation. For details, see Configuring the server HTTP Endpoint.

Reusing the workspace

Note: Starting from V9.2.1 onwards, when you roll back a HCL Quality Server version, the workspace cannot be reused and must be reinstalled.

Before you upgrade, or uninstall an older version to move to a newer version (when the upgrade is not applicable), back up the HCL Quality Server workspace. The workspace is the directory where HCL Quality Server stores its data (for example, published stubs), which is separate from the installation directory. After the upgrade or uninstallation, the contents of the workspace directory might change to work with the newer version of HCL Quality Server. Because Installation Manager supports rolling back the HCL Quality Server installation directory, but not the workspace directory, you must manually roll back the workspace while rolling back the installation.

To preserve your HCL Quality Server workspace (published stubs, user configuration, domains, and environments) when you uninstall the previous version, ensure that you do not select the option to remove the workspace. When you install the latest version, ensure that the workspace directory is set to the same location as your existing workspace.

To determine the workspace location, open the container.server.properties file that is available in HCL Quality Server installation directory\usr\servers\defaultServer\apps\RTCP.war\WEB-INF\classes directory. Look for the line that contains the workingDirectory key. For example:
  • On Windows, workingDirectory=C\:\\HCL®\\HQS-Workspace
  • Non-Windows, workingDirectory=/var/hqs
Note: If you delete the workspace during the uninstallation of HCL Quality Server (by selecting the Delete Workspace option) in the Installation Manager, all the published test reports are deleted as well.
Note: Starting from V9.2.1 onwards, the HCL Quality Server Environments page and the Agents page were replaced by dashboards. Those dashboards model stubs and scenarios differently and use new REST APIs, so existing test automation scripts that use the REST APIs before V9.2.1 will operate differently. Review the list of enhancements and download documents in the V9.2.1 release notes for information about other differences in HCL Quality Server in 9.2.1.