Creating a cluster

A cluster is a group of application servers that you manage together as a way to balance workload. If possible, use the administration server when you create a cluster. This makes the creation process faster. The administration server does not have to be part of the cluster.

Before you begin

Make sure that the administration server or another server is current.

About this task

To create a cluster, you must have the following access rights:

  • Author access and Delete Documents rights and the ServerModifier and ServerCreator roles in the HCL Domino® Directory
  • Author access with Create documents rights in the Administration Requests database

If a server belongs to a different cluster, you do not have to remove the server from that cluster before you add it to the new cluster. The Cluster Administration Process removes the server from the original cluster and then adds it to the new cluster.

Note: You cannot use the Web Administrator to create a cluster.

Procedure

  1. From the Domino Administrator, click the Configuration tab.
  2. In the Tasks pane, expand Server, and click All Server Documents.
  3. In the Results pane, select the servers that you want to add to the cluster.
  4. Click Add to Cluster.
  5. In the Cluster Name dialog box, choose Create New Cluster, and then click OK.
  6. Type the name of the new cluster, and then click OK.
  7. Choose Yes to add the servers to the cluster immediately, or choose No to submit a request to the Administration Process to add the servers to the cluster.
  8. Optional: If you chose No in Step 7 and you did not add the servers on the administration server, force replication between the server you used and the administration server so that the administration server receives the requested changes sooner.
  9. Optional: If you chose No in Step 7, force replication between the administration server and the cluster servers so the cluster servers receive all the changes sooner.
  10. Optional: If you chose Yes in Step 7, the cluster information is added immediately to the Domino Directory on the server you used to create the cluster. If this server is not part of the new cluster, replicate the changes to one of the servers you added to the cluster.