Controlling the use of headline monitors

Notes® users can set up their headlines to search server databases automatically for items of interest. You can control which users can or cannot access this server for headlines. This task applies toHCL Notes users only.

About this task

If many users use this feature, server performance may be slow. For information about headlines, see the Notes Help.

See the related information for how to restricting users from monitoring an individual database.

Procedure

  1. From the HCL Domino® Administrator, click Configuration, and open the Server document.
  2. Click the Security tab.
  3. In the Server Access section, complete one or both of these fields, and then save the document:
    Table 1. Fields used to control which Notes users can use headlines

    Field

    Action

    Allowed to use monitors

    Enter any of the following. Separate multiple names with commas (,) or semicolons (;).

    • Names of specific users and groups.
    • An asterisk (*) followed by a certificate name -- for example, */Sales/East/Renovations -- to allow all users certified by a particular certifier to use a monitor.
    • An asterisk (*) followed by a view name -- for example, *($Users) -- to allow all names that appear in a specific view in the Domino Directory to use monitors. Access time is quicker if you specify a group name rather than a view name.

    The default for this field is * (all users). Leave the field blank to allow no one to use headline monitors.

    Not allowed to use monitors

    Enter any of the following. Separate multiple names with commas (,) or semicolons (;).

    • Names of specific users and groups.
    • An asterisk (*) followed by a certificate name -- for example, */Sales/East/Renovations -- to prevent users certified by a particular certifier from using monitors.
    • An asterisk (*) followed by a view name -- for example, *($Users) -- to prevent all names that appear in a specific view in the Domino Directory from using monitors. Access time is quicker if you specify a group name rather than a view name.

    The default for this field is blank, meaning that no one is restricted from using monitors. Use an asterisk (*) to prevent all users from using monitors.