Manually syndicating items | HCL Digital Experience

Although syndication is configured to run automatically by default, from time to time you might need to manually update syndication.

About this task

To manually update a syndication relationship:

Procedure

  1. Go to Administration > Portal Content.
  2. Go to either the syndicator or subscriber views.
  3. Select either a syndicator or subscriber.
  4. Click the update icon and then either:
    1. Select Update. Update items changed since last syndication. to update the syndication relationship.
    2. Select Rebuild. Re-check all items. to rebuild the syndication relationship.
    From CF07, you can manually syndicate by using the following methods:
    Update
    This method syndicates items that are newer than the previous syndication. Items that are newer than the last syndication on the syndicator are sent to the subscriber. Items that are newer on the subscriber are not updated. Items that are created on the subscriber that do not exist on the syndicator are not removed from the subscriber.
    Rebuild
    This method syndicates all items that are newer on the syndicator. All items that are newer on the syndicator are sent to the subscriber. Items that are newer on the subscriber are not updated. Items that are created on the subscriber that do not exist on the syndicator are not removed from the subscriber.
    Rebuild with mirror
    If you select the mirror option, all items on the subscriber are reset to mirror the syndicator. All items that are newer on the syndicator are sent to the subscriber. Items that are newer on the subscriber are overwritten with the older version from the syndicator. Items that are created on the subscriber that do not exist on the syndicator are removed from the subscriber. Version history is not syndicated.
    Restriction: The Rebuild with mirror option must not be used with two-way syndication. Two-way syndication means that server A syndicates to server B, and server B syndicates to server A.
    Restriction: The Rebuild with mirror option can be used only on a syndicator.
    Note: The Rebuild with mirror option will not automatically cascade through all subscribers downstream of the syndicator. You might need to repeat the Rebuild with mirror action on subscribers further down the syndication chain to synchronize all servers.
    Note: The Rebuild with mirror option will not automatically cascade through all subscribers downstream of the syndicator. You might need to repeat the Rebuild with mirror action on subscribers further down the syndication chain to synchronize all servers.
    Restriction: Don't use the Rebuild with mirror option if other syndicator pairs feed into any of the libraries that are being rebuilt.
    Note: With CF09 or higher installed, the Rebuild with mirror option automatically cascades through all subscribers downstream of the syndicator that are configured with automatic syndication. Downstream automatic syndication is paused while the upstream mirror is running. Syndication can still be run manually downstream while automatic syndication is paused downstream.
    Table 1. Comparison between Rebuild and Rebuild With MirrorThe scenarios described in this table happen only within configured libraries of the syndication pair. Subscriber-only modifications to items outside of the configured libraries are not modified by Rebuild with mirror. These changes described in this table only apply to items syndicated from the server where a Rebuild or Rebuild with mirror action is requested. Items linked to other syndication pairs are not affected.
    Action Rebuild Rebuild with Mirror
    Update item on syndicator. Update item on subscriber. Update item on subscriber.
    Update item on subscriber. No action. Revert item on subscriber.
    Delete item on syndicator. Delete item on subscriber. Delete item on subscriber.
    Delete item on subscriber. Add item on subscriber. Add item on subscriber.
    Add item on syndicator. Add item on subscriber. Add item on subscriber.
    Add item on subscriber. No action. Purge item on subscriber.
    Update item on syndicator and then update item on subscriber. No action (subscriber modification preserved). Revert item to syndicator version.
  5. Click Update Subscription.